Chipola baseball players named to All-Conference Team

MARIANNA—Ten Chipola College baseball players were named to the All-Panhandle Conference team.

First-team picks were: Outfielder: Andre Tarver and Pitcher: Luis Guerrero. Second-team selections include: Infielders: Cameron Gray and Matthew Garcia; Outfielders: Cesar Franco; Catchers: David Castillo and Jozsef Rohrbacher; Designated Hitter: Dylan Goldstein; and Pitchers: Jaylen Nowlin and Andrew Baker.

The Indians finished third in the Panhandle Conference with a 14-10 league record and 34-15 overall.

The final Panhandle Conference standings as are: Pensacola (17-7), Northwest (15-9), Chipola (14-10), Gulf Coast (8-16), and Tallahassee (6-18).  The top two teams in the league will represent the Panhandle in the FCSAA State Tournament.

The Indians are ninth in the FCSAA State Poll and number 14 in the NJCAA national poll.

Chipola baseball coach Jeff Johnson picked up his 900th career win Feb. 27 in a 4-2 victory over San Jacinto. A three-time NJCAA Coach of the Year, Johnson’s Chipola squads have won three National Championships, six FCSAA State Championships, and 13 Panhandle Conference titles.